Disposing of the Body

IMG_0368

Its the decent thing to do, so I thought.
Being ‘Now’
I need to get rid of that decrepit old guy
lurking in my future
to say nothing of that kid
following me around.
Saddle shoes, really?

The obvious problem is
‘how’.
If I throw a shovel in the trunk
wrap myself in a carpet
and fall in
can I expect my car to follow through?

Few people know this
but birds,
other than a few
that are victims of hunting accidents
and jet engines
simply catch a special updraft
and dissolve in the refined atmosphere at the end.
‘Disappear into thin air’, if you will.
Have you ever seen a bird cemetery?
I rest my case.
It’s their aerial rite.

“I’m trying to be responsible here!”
I tell the clerk behind the counter of my hotel.
He smiles looking up
from a game of solitaire before him
just like he does every morning
when I leave the lobby
to walk into my life.
“Hey, I’m just trying to be you!” I plead.
He smiles unconvinced,
but always amused.
As I turn to walk into the street,
in the corner of my eye
I catch him slowly shaking his head.

Now, I assure myself,
this is a definite sign of progress!
No updraft, but progress none the less.

About dwk758

When I was in the 6th grade, I was fascinated by a brief section in my World History book about ancient Greece and the philosophers, mythology, and original Olympics. I wrote my first poem about it that started: "Ancient Greeks and old time Romans...". Ever since it has been an elaboration on that theme...and I have wandered far afield.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

