The Odd Transparency of Streams

When the Buddha left this world
he went to live with the fishes.
He taught them
in step by step instructions
how a little fish
is eaten by a bigger fish
and he by a bigger fish
and on and on
until there is this
one
large
nondual
fish.
And he is not hungry.

I discovered this one evening
when I became a star
in a black sea
of stars.
The light
became
unbearable.
I
was
swallowed
whole.
And I’m no longer hungry.

I looked on
as thousands of words
scattered before my feeding.
I dove to the reach of the light
and searched for those that flash silver and gold.
Suddenly,
in one moment,
I realized
I was
indeed
full.

About dwk758

When I was in the 6th grade, I was fascinated by a brief section in my World History book about ancient Greece and the philosophers, mythology, and original Olympics. I wrote my first poem about it that started: "Ancient Greeks and old time Romans...". Ever since it has been an elaboration on that theme...and I have wandered far afield.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Odd Transparency of Streams

  1. yi-ching lin says:

    intriguing read. thank you for the read and likes (smile).

    Like

  2. Kelley Rose says:

    This is a very beautiful piece of poetry my friend. Much love

    Like

Leave a Reply

